Broken to be Made More Beautiful

Although it’s said, what’s done cannot be undone. But know that when you have Jesus, He can make something beautiful, something good out of your brokenness.

Last Sunday, while packing my kitchen, I accidentally dropped  one of my blender’s container. The container’s edge chipped off. My heart ached to see it broken because it was a very new blender and I liked it a lot. As the container has to be overturned while blending, now that the  edge is chipped, the contents will certainly spill out during blending.

 

This Kenwood brand of blender came with two containers. In fact, only one is needed. The other is kind of extra. I tried to comfort myself that it’s an ‘extra’, it’s not needed, it takes up space. Nevertheless, I could not get myself to throw it because it is so new.

I was in fact very sad. It’s just a few minutes ago that I place that container there to dry. If only I had not place it there… if only…

I went for a jog and told the LORD about it.

When I reached home, the LORD reminded me that I have many, many bottles of honey, bought for almost 7 years unconsumed and collecting dust. Though I have learned that honey can be kept forever, they are taking up unnecessary space in my kitchen, cluttering the place. Then an idea came to my mind. Why not make a cup of honey each day using that container and keep it in the refrigerator? I can don’t use that container for blending but I can use it  to keep drinks and remind myself to drink. Then I discovered that that container has markings of 250 ml and 500 ml. It is an ideal container for me to measure and remind myself to drink 2 litres of water each day. You see, I often forget to drink water when I am very engrossed with my work. I hardly drink the 2 litres of water that every health article so recommended.

All of a sudden, I am reminded that when we tell our LORD Jesus the things that bother us, even how small an issue it may be — just like this case– Jesus listens and He can make something beautiful from our brokenness.

Instead of being an extra container, this imperfect container is now an indispensable item with extraordinary function to remind me to drink my 2 litres of water each day and to consume my honey daily.

My friend, whatever is troubling you today, however big or small, give it to the LORD. He will make something beautiful out of it.

Here’s a beautiful song “Something Beautiful” by BILL GAITHER, that I would like to share with you:

 

Here’s the beautiful lyrics:

Something beautiful, something good
All my confusion He understood
All I had to offer Him was brokenness and strife
But he made something beautiful of my life

If there ever were dreams
That were lofty and noble
They were my dreams at the start
And hope for life’s best were the hopes
That I harbor down deep in my heart
But my dreams turned to ashes
And my castles all crumbled, my fortune turned to loss
So I wrapped it all in the rags of life
And laid it at the cross

Leave a Reply

